Content and procedure

“A picture is worth a thousand words.”

In this one-day Kickstarter Workshop, we provide a comprehensive overview of visualization in Data Science. We will discuss the methods used in visual design and consider the essential aspects of agile dashboard creation. Using best practices and established industry standards (such as Hichert’s IBCS and Success Rules), participants will learn how to quickly create a professional dashboard. With the help of numerous hands-on exercises and practical examples, the information is effectively internalized and made tangible for everyone. Afterwards we develop the visual representations in the Practice Sesssion and discuss them together.

The focus of the workshop is on creating approaches, challenges and technologies for reception-oriented visualizations.

Fancy the DataViz adventure in the Data world? Secure your place in the workshop today.

AT_Elena-Danchyshyna

Short Facts

  • Speaker: Elena Danchyshyna
  • Language: English
  • March 19th 2019
  • 10:00 – 17:15
  • Sofitel Hotel Munich Bayerpost, Bayerstraße 12, 80335 München

Learning goals

Insight into the process steps from dashboard conception

Understand the importance of visual perception for dashboard design and better comprehend how information is consolidated, displayed and mapped

Learn how to quickly and professionally create a user-friendly dashboard in an agile environment

Speaker

Elena Danchyshyna

has been working for Alexander Thamm GmbH for 6 years. After completing her LMU studies in business administration (B.Sc.), she worked as a data scientist with a focus on visualization, managing and driving numerous data science projects for various industries, in particular the automotive industry. Since 2017 she has been developing applications, dashboards, reporting and visualization concepts as an expert in the field of visualization and user experience design and supports cross-team implementation and evaluation. She focuses on the conception and development of innovative visual solutions and is a member of the IBCS (International Business Communication Standards) association.

Agenda

federica-galli-449563
  • 09:00 – 09:30 | Lets get to know each other
  • 09:30 – 11:00 | Dashboarding Process: 4 steps to dashboard from sketch to prototype with hands-on practice
  • 11:00 – 12:30 | Part 1: Key Factors for Dashboard Designing with referencce to  IBCS and Hichert Success rules (User, Data, Structure, Visualization)
  • 12:30 – 13.30 | Lunch
  • 13:30 – 15:00 | Part 2: Key Factors for Dashboard Designing with referencce to  IBCS and Hichert Success rules (Context, Message, Consistency, Information hierarchy., Data-Ink Ratio, Stoyrtelling)
  • 15:00 – 17:00 | Practice Part: get your hands dirty and built your own dashboard

Requirements

No previous knowledge is required for the workshop. Participants should bring a laptop for practical exercises and will receive further information before the workshop.

Are you interested in this workshop?

Inhalt und Ablauf

„Ein Bild sagt mehr als tausend Worte“.

In diesem eintägigen Kickstarter Workshop vermitteln wir einen umfassenden Überblick über die Visualisierung in Data Science. Dabei gehen wir auf die Methoden im Visual Design ein und betrachten die essentiellen Aspekte der agilen  Dashboard Erstellung. Mithilfe von Best Practices und etablierten Branchenstandards (wie IBCS und Success- Regeln von Hichert) wird den Teilnehmern vermittelt, wie man schnell  ein professionelles Dashboard erstellen kann. Anhand der zahlreichen Hands-on Übungen und praxisbezogenen Beispiele werden die Informationen effektiv verinnerlicht und für jeden greifbar gemacht. Anschließend  entwickeln wir in der Practice Sesssion die visuellen Darstellungen und diskutieren diese gemeinsam.

Der Fokus vom Workshop liegt darauf, Vorgehensweise , Herausforderungen und Technologien  für empfangsgerechte Visualisierungen zu erstellen.

Lust auf die DataViz Abenteur in der Data Welt? Sicher dir deinen Platz im Workshop bereits heute.

AT_Elena-Danchyshyna

Short Facts

  • Referent: Elena Danchyshyna
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • 19. März 2019
  • 10:00 – 17:15
  • Sofitel Hotel Munich Bayerpost, Bayerstraße 12, 80335 München

Lernziele

Einblick in den Prozessschritte vom Dashboard Konzeption

Bedeutung der visuellen Wahrnehmung für das Dashboard-Design erkennen und ein besseres Verständnis für die Konsolidierung, Anzeige und Zuordnung der Informationen schaffen

Lernen, wie man schnell und professionell ein benutzerfreundliches Dashboard im agilem Umfeld erstellt

Referent

Elena Danchyshyna

arbeitet bei der Alexander Thamm GmbH seit 6 Jahren. Nach dem LMU Studium im Bereich BWL (B.Sc.) hat sie als Data Scientist mit dem Fokus auf die Visualisierung die zahlreichen Data Science Projekte für die verschiedenen Branchen, insbesondere für Automotive Industrie, geleitet und vorangetrieben. Seit 2017 entwickelt sie als Expertin im Bereich Visualisierung und User Experience Design die Applikationen, Dashboards, Reportings und Visualisierungskonzepte und unterstützt teamübergreifend bei deren Implementierung und Evaluierung. Sie legt den Fokus auf die Konzeptionierung und Entwicklung der innovativer visueller Lösungen und ist einen Mitglied des IBCS (International Business Communication Standards) Verbandes.

Agenda

federica-galli-449563
  • 09:00 – 09:30 | Kennenlernen
  • 09:30 – 11:00  | Dashboarding Prozess: 4 Schritte bei der Dashboard-Erstellung von Sketch zum Prototype praxisnah
  • 11:00 – 12:30  | Teil 1: Wichtige Faktoren für das Dashboard Designing in Anlehnung auf die IBCS und Success- Regeln von Hichert (User, Daten, Aufbau,  richtige Visualisierung)
  • 12:30 – 13.30  | Mittagszeit
  • 13:30 – 15:00 | Teil 2:  Wichtige Faktoren für das Dashboard Designing in Anlehnung auf die IBCS und Success- Regeln von Hichert (Kontext, Botschaft, Konsistenz, Information Hierarchie, Data-Ink Ratio, Stoyrtelling)
  • 15:00 – 17:00 | Praktischer Teil: Erstelle  dein Dashboard selbst

Voraussetzungen

Für den Workshop sind keine Vorkenntnisse benötigt. Die Teilnehmer sollten für praktische Übungen einen Laptop mitnehmen und erhalten weitere Infos vor dem Workshop.

Sind Sie an diesem Workshop interessiert?