Content and procedure

With the growing diversity and volume of data, the challenges of processing and managing (big) data are also increasing. This workshop gives an overview of the resulting profile and the corresponding activities of a data engineer and introduces the concepts and processes of Big Data via the classical world of Data Warehouse and structured data. The participants will first become familiar with the terminology and the underlying technologies as well as possible application areas of Data Warehouse and Business Intelligence on the basis of their daily work. A corresponding basic understanding of the use of SQL in this context is guaranteed by hands-on exercises.
In addition to the clarification of traditional data organizations and models, the limits of these approaches will be discussed and the topic of Big Data Processing and Architectures will be introduced. This workshop is aimed at employees and managers from the classic areas of data warehousing, BI and data engineering and provides an introduction to traditional and new methods for modeling and managing structured and unstructured data.

Simon-Kaltenbacher

Short Facts

  • Speaker: Simon Kaltenbacher
  • Language: English
  • 19 March 2019
  • 10:00 – 17:15
  • Sofitel Hotel Munich Bayerpost, Bayerstraße 12, 80335 Munich, Germany

Learning Objectives

Insight into the world of a data engineer

Introduction to management and modeling of structured and unstructured data

Hands On exercises provide a basic understanding of SQL

Speaker

Simon Kaltenbacher

is Head of Technology at Alexander Thamm GmbH. There he advises customers on the development of data platforms and supports them in the implementation of data pipelines. He has been following the Apache Spark project intensively since version 0.9 and has already held several training courses and lectures on this technology.

Agenda

federica-galli-449563
  • Basic concept all around data
    • Introduction to data models and databases
    • Data Warehouse Architecture – Layers, Components and Characteristics
  • SQL for Data Warehousing
    • Normalized and de-normalized data models
  • Introduction to Big Data
    • How many V’s?
    • Limits of traditional approaches
  • NoSQL
    • Concepts (ACID, BASE, CAP)
    • Data models (Key-Value, Document, Column-based, Graph)
  • Batch Models
    • Hadoop, Map-Reduce, HDFS
    • Pipelining with Spark
  • Data Lakes Architectures

Requirements

Basic knowledge in statistics, mathematics and computer science is necessary. A laptop is required for the practical exercises.

Are you interested in this workshop?

Inhalt und Ablauf

Mit der wachsenden Vielfältigkeit und Masse an Daten steigen auch die Herausforderungen zur Verarbeitung und Verwaltung von (Big) Data. Dieser Workshop gibt einen Überblick über das daraus entstandene Profil und die entsprechenden Tätigkeiten eines Data Engineers und führt über die klassische Welt von Data Warehouse und strukturierten Daten in die Konzepte und Prozesse von Big Data ein. Die Teilnehmer werden zunächst mit Begrifflichkeit und den dahinter stehenden Technologien sowie mögliche Einsatzgebiete von Data Warehouse und Business Intelligence auf Basis ihrer täglichen Arbeit vertraut gemacht. Ein entsprechendes Grundsatz-Verständnis der Verwendung von SQL in diesem Zusammenhang wird durch Hands-on Übungen gewährleistet.
Zusätzlich zur Aufklärung der traditionellen Datenorganisationen und Modelle werden die Grenzen dieser Ansätze diskutiert und das Themengebiet Big Data Verarbeitung und Architekturen eingeführt. Dieser Workshop richtet sich an Mitarbeiter und Verantwortliche aus den klassischen Bereichen Data Warehousing, BI und Data Engineering, und vermittelt einen Einstieg in die traditionellen und neuen Methoden zur Modellierung und Verwaltung von strukturierten sowie unstrukturierten Date ein.

Simon-Kaltenbacher

Short Facts

  • Referent: Simon Kaltenbacher
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • 19. März 2019
  • 10:00 – 17:15
  • Sofitel Hotel Munich Bayerpost, Bayerstraße 12, 80335 München

Lernziele

Einblick in die Welt eines Data Engineers

Einstieg in Verwaltung und Modellierung von strukturierten und unstrukturierten Daten

Hands On Übungen sorgen für ein grundlegendes SQL Verständnis

Referent

Simon Kaltenbacher

ist Head of Technology bei der Alexander Thamm GmbH. Dort berät er Kunden beim Aufbau von Datenplattformen und unterstützt sie bei der Implementierung von Daten-Pipelines. Er verfolgt das Apache-Spark-Projekt intensiv seit Version 0.9 und hat bereits mehrere Schulungen und Vorträge zu dieser Technologie gehalten.

Agenda

federica-galli-449563
    • Grundsätzliches Konzept rundum Daten
      • Einführung in Datenmodelle und Datenbanken
      • Datawarehouse-Architektur – Schichten, Komponenten und Charakteristika
    • SQL für Data Warehousing
      • Normalisierte und de-normalisierteDatenmodelle
    • Einführung in Big Data
      • Wieviele V’s?
      • Grenzen traditioneller Ansätze
    • NoSQL
      • Concepts (ACID, BASE, CAP)
      • Datenmodelle (Key-Value, Document, Column-based, Graph)
    • Batch-Modelle
      • Hadoop, Map-Reduce, HDFS
      • Pipelining mit Spark
    • Data Lakes Architekturen

Voraussetzungen

Grundlegende Kenntnisse in Statistik, Mathematik und Informatik sind notwendig. Für die Durchführung der praktischen Übungen wird ein Laptop benötigt.

Sind Sie an diesem Workshop interessiert?